Will I Lose Photos If I Downgrade iCloud Storage 2?

If you find that you are using too much iCloud storage, don’t want to pay for an expensive plan anymore, or simply can’t afford to keep paying for a subscription that you no longer use, downgrading to a cheaper tier may be the best option. However, downgrading your iCloud storage plan can cause photos to become inaccessible on other devices or lose their original quality. Will i lose photos if i downgrade icloud storage 2? This is the question that many people are asking.

Cancelling or Downgrading iCloud Storage on a Mac or PC

You can cancel or downgrade your iCloud storage plan on your Mac or Windows computer by opening the iCloud app and following the instructions below. Select iCloud Options, enter your Apple ID password and click Manage. On the iCloud Options screen, you can see how much storage space you’re using and downgrade to a lower tier or cancel by choosing the free 5 GB plan. You can also check your current storage plan, when it expires and see which apps store backups in iCloud.

The changes to your iCloud storage plan take effect at the end of the current billing cycle. If you downgrade to a cheaper tier and the content you’re storing no longer fits in your new storage plan, you will be asked to delete or download some of it. You can also remove backups from iCloud Photo Library or iCloud Drive to make room for more data. If you use iCloud Mail, you can also delete emails to free up space.

Fortunately, downgrading iCloud storage won’t automatically delete any of your photos from your device. Downgrading does, however, make some of your iCloud photos inaccessible to you on other devices until the data used by those files falls below the limit for your new storage option. This is true of iCloud Drive as well.

It’s important to back up your iCloud data regularly, even if you have enough space on your device. In case you need to downgrade your iCloud storage or cancel your paid subscription, it’s a good idea to have a local copy of all your data on a separate device or external hard drive. It’s also a good idea to have a backup of your iCloud settings and preferences in case you have to restore or reset your device. Finally, if you’re cancelling your paid iCloud storage subscription, make sure to have your credit card information handy. You’ll need to enter it again when you decide to upgrade again in the future. If you don’t, Apple will start deleting content from your iCloud account indiscriminately. To avoid this, you should back up your iCloud data and delete anything that isn’t important before cancelling your subscription.