How to Use Your Security and Login on Facebook

Using Facebook to connect with friends and family can be fun, but it can also be insecure. Thankfully, you can use your security and login to keep your account safe. You can do so by making sure to update your password and using a strong one. Also, don’t share your password with anyone, including strangers. If you do, you may be giving hackers access to your account. Alternatively, you could turn on secure browsing, which will ensure that only Facebook users can log in.

You can also enable two-factor authentication. This requires you to sign in with a security code provided by Facebook. It’s not required, but it’s recommended. For additional security, you might want to consider a dedicated app. These apps are a lot easier to set up, and they can be more secure than the site itself.

Luckily, Facebook has a handy feature that will let you know when your device is on the verge of being compromised. They’ll send you an alert with a location and the name of the browser. Just like with other online services, you can choose to allow or deny this feature. While it’s not infallible, it’s a good way to spot potential threats before they get too close.

Similarly, you can make sure that your device isn’t being logged into from a suspicious location by tracking your devices. By ticking checkboxes on all of your known devices, you’ll make it more difficult for crooks to log into your account.

One of the newest features to hit Facebook is the Security Checkup. The feature will notify you if an unauthorized device tries to log into your account. Typically, this is accompanied by a QR code, which will provide you with a code to scan in. Of course, you won’t be able to use it if you don’t have a QR code, but that’s still better than having someone steal your identity.

Obviously, you should also take advantage of any of the other features that Facebook offers, such as the Secure Browsing feature and the Mobile Security options. Both of these can be found in your Account Settings and you should definitely turn them on if you haven’t already.

In fact, a few years ago, Facebook admitted that it was using phone numbers to advertise itself. That’s a big deal, but the site has since rolled out a new security feature to help you keep your privacy in tact. When a stranger friend requests you on Facebook, you can set up an alert that will notify you if that person is trying to log in.

The other notable Facebook security feature is the’seen’ feature. This feature catches a lot of spam and fake profiles. Basically, when you see an alert, it means that someone has tried to log into your account, and it’s up to you to remove them from your list.

Lastly, you should check your security and login settings often. This is particularly important if you have a smartphone or tablet. Sometimes, your device gets routed to an IP address that doesn’t reflect your current location, making it easy for a hacker to gain unauthorized access to your account.