How Old Is The Youngest Kid In Juvy?
The youngest kid in juvy is an interesting question to answer. While some states have no age limit for juvenile court and others do not, a small number of states have adopted laws that set a minimum age at which children can be prosecuted. Some advocates of reforming the juvenile justice system argue that the vast majority of young kids locked up are not acting out, but rather need mental health treatment.
In some states, the lowest age for prosecution is six years old, while in others it’s seven. But in many states, the law doesn’t apply to certain types of crimes. For example, a child who commits a murder can be prosecuted at age 10, whereas an aggravated sexual assault is a crime for a juvenile aged 10 or older.
The oldest prison built in the United States was in York, Maine, in 1720. However, in recent years, the number of young kids ages 10 to 12 being locked up in juvenile detention centers has decreased. Among the states that do not have a minimum age for juvenile courts are Colorado, North Carolina, and Vermont.
One of the earliest juveniles to enter the criminal justice system was Billy the Kid. He was arrested on September 23, 1875, after stealing a basket of laundry. Since then, there have been 226 juvenile death sentences imposed in the U.S. Currently, 82 juvenile offenders are on death row.
If a child is charged with a crime, he or she cannot be released from a detention center until a judge has decided whether to allow bail. There are some exceptions, such as when a court has determined that the child’s presence is not in the child’s best interest. Another option is to place the child in Youth Detention Accommodation. This is a program that is administered by a youth court, and it can last between four months and two years.
While the number of juveniles in jail has declined, the number of juveniles being tried in adult courts has increased. Many of the cases that go to an adult court involve offenses that are similar to those committed by younger peers. Also, 40 to 45 percent of 18 and 19-year-olds convicted in adult courts receive a fine-only disposition.
A number of state legislatures are considering raising the minimum age at which kids can be prosecuted in their adult courts. In Colorado, for instance, lawmakers rewrote legislation that raised the minimum age of judicial transfer to 16. At the same time, they created a 32-member panel of experts. They will report back to the legislature in a year’s time.
Despite the efforts to change the way kids are prosecuted, there are still a lot of questions left unanswered. In particular, there’s still a debate over how to treat children who are homeless, or who have experienced foster care. Even when it comes to juveniles who are not charged with felonies, some prosecutors see juvenile halls as the best place to straighten them out.