Does a Tint Ticket Affect Insurance?

Does a Tint Ticket Affect Insurance

While tinted windows may make a driver feel more comfortable on the road, they could also raise rates. As a result, drivers should always keep their tinting within state legal limits in order to avoid higher insurance costs.

A window tint violation is usually categorized as a non-moving violation, like a parking ticket or other minor violations. It is important to fix a tint violation before it becomes a bigger offense that will put points on your driving record and cause you to pay higher car insurance rates.

It is best to consult your local vehicle manufacturer and car insurance company to learn more about the specific laws in your area. Those companies can help you determine whether or not your tinting is legal in your state, so you don’t risk higher insurance premiums.

If a window tint violation does cause a significant rise in your car insurance rate, you should contact your insurer to discuss what is causing the increase. Most times, this is because tinted windows are not a part of the original equipment installed on a vehicle. The windows should be inspected by your car insurance company, and any modifications made to the windows should be covered under modified car insurance if they are not already covered on the regular policy.

In some states, a vehicle inspection sticker will indicate what window tint percentages are allowed. These percentages measure visible light transmission and correlate to how much of the sun’s rays can be seen through your window.

The highest window tint percentages allow more than 70 percent of the sun’s rays to pass through, while lower percentages let less sunlight through. In other words, tinting that is too dark can be a safety hazard to drivers.

Most states have strict guidelines for window tinting, so be sure to research them before having your windows tinted. For example, California requires rear side windows on a truck, SUV or bus to be able to allow at least 70 percent of the outside light to travel through them.

However, some states are more lax than others when it comes to window tinting. For instance, New Hampshire doesn’t even allow any window tint on the front sides of vehicles.

If you have a tint ticket, your first step is to go to court and present evidence that your window tint is in compliance with the state’s laws. You’ll need to bring evidence such as photos of your car’s windows, an affidavit signed by the person who removed or inspected the window tint, and copies of any receipts that show you purchased the window tint from a particular shop.

Alternatively, you can also show that the police officer was mistaken when he pulled you over. If you can present enough evidence, your ticket will be dismissed and the fines and fees you owe will be waived.

If you’re concerned about the impact of a tint ticket on your car insurance, you can use an online insurance comparison tool to get quotes from several different companies. Those quotes should help you compare prices and find the cheapest policy for you.